Business Book Award

The Financial Times and Goldman Sachs Announce Shortlist for 2013 Business Book of the Year Award

Text Size

19 September 2013—The Financial Times and Goldman Sachs today publish the shortlist for the ninth annual Financial Times and Goldman Sachs Business Book of the Year Award, now an essential calendar fixture for business people and authors alike. The award aims to identify the book providing the most compelling and enjoyable insight into modern business issues.

This year's distinguished judges have chosen the six most influential business books in 2013:

The Alchemists: Inside the Secret World of Central Bankers by Neil Irwin (The Penguin Press, Headline Business Plus)

Making it Happen: Fred Goodwin, RBS and the Men Who Blew Up the British Economy by Iain Martin (Simon and Schuster) 

BIG DATA: A Revolution That Will Transform How We Live, Work, and Think by Viktor Mayer-Schönberger and Kenneth Cukier (John Murray; Eamon Dolan Books/Houghton Mifflin Harcourt)

The Billionaire's Apprentice: The Rise of The Indian-American Elite and The Fall of The Galleon Hedge Fund by Anita Raghavan (Hachette Book Group/Business Plus)

Lean In: Women, Work, and the Will to Lead by Sheryl Sandberg (WH Allen/Random House Group; Knopf)

The Everything Store: Jeff Bezos and the Age of Amazon by Brad Stone (Transworld/ Bantam Press; Little, Brown)

The judging panel, chaired by FT editor Lionel Barber, includes:

Vindi Banga, Partner, Clayton, Dubilier & Rice
Steve Coll, Dean, School of Journalism at Columbia University, New York and Staff Writer, The New Yorker magazine
Lynda Gratton, Professor of Management Practice, London Business School
Arthur Levitt, former Chairman of the United States Securities and Exchange Commission
Jorma Ollila, Chairman of Royal Dutch Shell
Shriti Vadera, Director of Shriti Vadera Ltd, Non-Executive Director of BHP Billiton  and AstraZeneca

Click here to read the press release and more about the shortlisted books and authors.

For further information on the Book Award and this year's judging panel, visit: